Lee Young Ae Returns to Acting 12 Years After Dae Jang Geum

Are you ready for the begging casting news in K-Ent of the year (probably even years to come)? Famous, semi-retired actress Lee Young Ae is coming back to dramaland, 12 years after the mega super hallyu hit Dae Jang Geum (Jewel in the Palace). I am so excited I need to take a deep breath. This cannot be good for my blood pressure. 

Screen Shot 2015-03-24 at 8.15.52 PM

Reportedly the drama is about Shin Saimdang, a famous Korean artist, writer, calligraphist, and poet, known for upholding an outstanding model of Confucian Virtue. But perhaps you know her better from the 50,000 won note, she’s the first woman to appear on a Korean banknote.

I don’t know a lot about Shin Saimdang’s life apart from the most basic facts, but from what I’ve read of the news reports, the drama will depict two time periods simultaneously, present and past. In the present a renowned scholar attempts to uncover the mystery behind Saimdang’s tragic love life as well as the hidden meaning behind one of her paintings. Lee Young Ae is set to play both characters. Uhhh, I’d be into that! Not sure if the drama will go for some sort of reincarnation of Saimdang, or maybe an ancestry link, but what whatever the case I am so excited! Let me say that again: I AM SO EXCITED! I really thought Lee Young Ae was gone from acting for good, but I am so glad she’s back, if only for the pure mythical power behind her return.

The drama is apparently looking to start production in June with a goal of airing at the beginning of 2016. No network as of yet although SBS is said to be the one (although I can imagine the big three battling it out behind the screen what with it being Lee Young Ae’s comeback drama), and no PD either (is it too much to keep my fingers crossed for Lee Byung Hoon? (DJG PD)).

Right, so that’s all the official stuff. I’m really intrigued by the “tragic love life” because the bells already starting ringing in my head: who’s a good candidate for leading man? Lee Young Ae is 44, so it would also have to be someone in their 40s…….. I’m not saying it has to be Ji Jin Hee, but if the drama gods want to being back the Dae Jang Geum OTP back, who am I to oppose them!? Sigh, I can only hope. To be honest, I am way too excited by the fact that she’s  coming back to dramaland to even begin to form coherent choices for leading men.

In the mean time, let’s remember the awesomeness that was Dae Jang Geum, and hope that this drama will be amazing!

Leave a Reply

